Killer Review: Tastes Like Fear by Sarah Hilary

First Line: ‘Rain had blunted all of London’s spires, flattened her high-rises, buried her tower blocks in puddles of mud.’

Blurb:  The young girl who causes the fatal car crash disappears from the scene. A runaway who doesn’t want to be found, she only wants to go home. To the one man who understands her. Gives her shelter. Just as he gives shelter to the other lost girls who live in his house. He’s the head of her new family.

He’s Harm.

D.I. Marnie Rome has faced many dangerous criminals but she has never come up against a man like Harm. She thinks that she knows families, their secrets and their fault lines. But as she begins investigating the girl’s disappearance nothing can prepare her for what she’s about to face.

Because when Harm’s family is threatened, everything tastes like fear…

DI Marnie Rome and DS Noah Jake are back with a bang in this fantastic third novel in the Marnie Rome series. A distraught young girl walks into the road and causes a fatal car crash – only to then disappear from the scene. What starts out as a simple case to locate the missing girl turns into a disturbing and sinister case for Marnie Rome as she is faced with a new type of criminal – someone who collects runaway young girls like they’re sweets who will stop at nothing to get what he wants.

I was so pleased when I picked up this book as I loved Sarah Hilary’s previous book Someone Else’s Skin. Tastes Like Fear was breath-taking from the very first moment I started reading.

I especially loved the characters of Marnie and Noah even more in this novel as it has a lot more depth of character in this story by drip feeding both characters’ backstory and flaws but still managing to keep it relevant to the main plot of the story.  I particularly found the villain very creepy in this novel, putting me on edge as a reader which made me keep pick up this book as I was desperate to find out who it was and what motivated them.

The setting of Battersea Power Station was very vivid and descriptive which really brought this area of London to life for me and added another dimension to the story.

The novel also has a fantastic twist in it that I didn’t see coming which literally made me gasp out loud and turned the whole story on its head. This novel is packed full of pace and suspense with a tightly weaved plot which kept me on the very edge of my seat.

This is a fantastic read for anyone who loves a thrilling, high stakes police procedural with a twist.

With thanks to Net Galley and Headline Publishing for my copy of Tastes like Fear.

To buy this book on Amazon click here

To buy this book on Waterstones click here

To find out more about Sarah Hilary follow her on Twitter @sarah_hilary or visit her website here 

 

One response to “Killer Review: Tastes Like Fear by Sarah Hilary

  1. Pingback: My Favourite Reads from 2016 | Chillers Killers and Thrillers

Leave a Reply

