In Her Wake Blog Tour – Extract and Giveaway

Today I’m delighted to be hosting the next stop on the fabulous Amanda Jennings’ In Her Wake blog tour to share the prologue with you and to give one lucky person the chance to win their very own copy of this fab book.

In Her Wake HBcover copy 4.jpgBlurb:

A tragic family event reveals devastating news that rips apart Bella’s comfortable existence. Embarking on a personal journey to uncover the truth, she faces a series of traumatic discoveries that take her to the ruggedly beautiful Cornish coast, where hidden truths, past betrayals and a 25-year-old mystery threaten not just her identity, but her life.

In Her Wake by Amanda Jennings

Prologue:

I dreamt vividly the night she died. I’ve had this dream before. In it I am running. Always running. My heart thumps in my ears. My breath comes in short, painful gasps. It is dark and cold and the tress reach out to grab me, as if they are alive, as if they are trying to capture me with their long, twiggy fingers. Their roots are thick and hidden and I trip repeatedly. I think my feet must hurt. I look down to see that I am wearing only one slipper.

When did I lose the other?

Fear has taken hold of me now. A rising panic fills me and I begin to struggle for breath. My chest is tight, like a giant’s hand is squeezing and squeezing, making each gasp impossible. It is getting darker. I must keep running. And then, just when I think it’s all over, there it is, a glorious sunrise appears ahead and forces back the darkness. She is sitting, as she always does, in the pool of light on the forest floor. A little girl in a white nightie, soft, golden curls framing her pale face. I run to her and she lifts her head. When she sees me she smiles. I wave and she waves back and then I laugh because she is wearing my other slipper. We both have one bare foot and one slipper. How funny!

As soon as I laugh, the light begins to fade and so does she. I scream loudly my lungs feel as if they might split open.

I have to reach her before she melts away.

But it’s always too late.

As I stretch my fingers out to touch her, she vanishes.

My hand grasps smoke.

Then everything turns black and the ground beneath me disappears. I am falling through a void, into a pit with windowless walls that stretch up for miles, walls that are slippery with darkness and impossible to climb.

I am lost forever.

This is what I dreamt the night she died.

To find out more about Amanda Jennings follow her on Twitter @MandaJJennings or check out her website here. In Her Wake is published by Orenda Books and is out to buy now. To buy this book on Amazon click here.

FOR A CHANCE TO WIN your very own copy of IN HER WAKE BY AMANDA JENNINGS:

  • Tweet the link to this post with @emms_rachel in the post OR like or retweet one of my tweets about the giveaway. (You’ll need to follow me on Twitter, so that I can send you a direct message if you win.)
  • Rules: 
Only one entry per reader.
  • Open to UK residents only.
  • I will draw the winner at random. There will be no cash alternative
  • The competition closes for entries at 10.00pm GMT on Friday 15th April 2016
  • My decision is final and no correspondence will be entered into.

****This competition has now closed****

Don’t forget to check out all the other fab stops on the In Her Wake Blog Tour:

In Her Wake Blog tour.jpg

 

 

Leave a Reply

