My Blog Is One Today

So, a year ago today I decided to launch my blog into the world. I had been playing with the idea for a little while but it took me a while to finally commit and press that publish button. The idea originally started in my first year at City University, where many of you may know I am studying an MA in Crime Novel writing.

I love connecting with the blogger world as it has really widened my reading and I have found a number of authors and novels which I wouldn’t have necessarily have picked up on my own but have turned out to be superb. I have also met a lot of awesome new people; bloggers, authors, publicists etc. and talk daily to my bookish friends.

yjyn2137

 

Since starting my blog I have had a lot more confidence in myself and have put myself out there more. Last year, I went to some amazing crime festivals and met such lovely friendly people;  I attended Deal Noir, Greenwich Book fest, Crimefest, Theakstons Crime Festival in Harrogate, Killer Women and Iceland Noir. I have also been to a number of First Monday Crime events, Rooftop book club events, and some fantastic book launches. I hope to attend many more this year.

 

Recently, I have also been quoted in two published books, Before I let You in by Jenny Blackhurst and Deep Down Dead by Steph Broadribb – which I would never have imagined a year ago!

lnec8225

I would like to say a huge thank you to all my blogger friends, readers, publicists, author friends and the wonderful people on Book Connectors and The Book Club for supporting my blog – I love being a part of this community. Also thanks Sam Dee, William Ryan and Steph Broadribb, aka Crime Thriller Girl for helping me take the plunge (apologies for the self-indulgence by this point)

**This competition has now ended and the winners notified**

capture

So as a little thank you – I am running a competition. For one lucky person I have up for grabs:

A copy of Steph Broadribb’s Deep Down Dead – one of my top picks for 2016

A shiny new notebook

And a little chocolate treat

 To enter click on the Rafflecopter giveaway link.

Entries only open to people who live in the UK due to postage (apologies).

42 responses to “My Blog Is One Today

  1. Happy first blogiversary! Fav book so far? Can’t decide between Even Dogs in the Wild – Ian Rankin (only just read it) and Sirens – Joseph Knox.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy blog birthday. I’m afraid I haven’t had a chance to read any new books yet this year. What with family issues taking time and starting on a major paper decluttering exercise all my spare reading time is spent reading paper I hope to recycle! I’m looking forward to getting back to some new reading – though I must the book I keep taking off the shelf and reading the odd chapter of is “The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy” . No matter how often I read it it still makes me laugh.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

